Adopting in Indiana

Adoption in Indiana involves many factors, depending upon the type of adoption you are interested in. The length of time and the cost of adopting will vary based on whether you are doing a public, private, or international adoption.

Types of Adoption

There are four basic types of adoption: public agency adoption, domestic private agency adoption, international adoption, and independent adoption. Requirements, costs, and timing vary between and within the different types of adoption. 

To decide which type is best for you, think seriously about the type of child you would like to adopt (for example, an infant, an older child or group of siblings, a child from another country, a child who has special needs, etc.). Adopting through Indiana Adoption Program is considered a public agency adoption.

How Much Does it Cost to Adopt?

We are often asked about the cost of adoption. There are many factors that impact the cost of adopting in Indiana, but in some cases, it can be very affordable.

Public Agency

Private Agency

International Adoption

Independent Adoption

Costs cited above are provided by North American Council on Adoptable Children. Adoption costs can vary by type and complexity of adoption; the numbers shown here are average “up to” costs. For more detail, please visit our Types of Adoption page. You may also want to visit our Adoption Expenses page for information on ways to cover or assist with adoption expenses.

How Long Does The Adoption Process Take?

Adoption is a process, and it can take time.​ Most adoptive parents can meet all state requirements in 6 to 12 months. Families are selected for consideration based on characteristics that indicate they may be a good match for the waiting child and able to best meet that child’s individual needs. Once a family and a child are matched, the child’s move to an adoptive family’s home is based on the child’s need to make a stable and lasting transition. The final decision to place a child in an adoptive home always rests with the court.

Pin It on Pinterest